Below are lists of different hit-and-run laws in the United States. They all vary. Please click the “other states” link if your state is not listed below.
Except as otherwise provided in this section, any person violating this section commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.
If the victim suffers serious bodily injury, any person violating subsection (a) commits a felony of the third degree, and the sentencing court shall order the person to serve a minimum term of imprisonment of not less than 90 days and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, notwithstanding any other provision of law.
If the victim dies, any person violating subsection (a) commits a felony of the third degree, and the sentencing court shall order the person to serve a minimum term of imprisonment of not less than one year and a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500, notwithstanding any other provision of law.”
“Whoever violates subsection (a) of this section when that person has been involved in an accident resulting in injury to any person shall be guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor, be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $3,000 or imprisoned not less than 1 year nor more than 2 years.”
– No more than 2 years??? Are you Kidding me?? TWO YEARS? This needs to change as well, Delaware will be our next task after he concur Pennsylvania.
“Newly Passed laws, like the one we are petitioning changed this! We can do it!
(2) Any person who violates any provision of this section commits:
(a) A class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense if the accident resulted in injury to any person;
(b) A class 5 felony if the accident resulted in serious bodily injury to any person;
(c) A class 4 felony if the accident resulted in the death of any person.
(3) The department shall revoke the driver’s license of the person so convicted.
(4) As used in this section and sections 42-4-1603 and 42-4-1606:
(a) “Injury” means physical pain, illness, or any impairment of physical or mental condition.”